TLC’s newest show, My Strange Addiction, follows people who have – you guessed it! – strange addictions. So far I’ve seen some really awesomely strange addictions: a women constantly eating cleaning detergent, a chick habitually dressing in furry animal customs, a guy having a longstanding relationship with a blowup mannequin – yeah, you get the picture.

Watching their stories inspired me, and I think it’s high time I come out and admit that I too, have a strange addiction. Because after all – admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery.

Ok, here it goes: The reason I haven’t blogged in about a week and a half, and the reason I’ve suddenly become more reclusive and have been wearing my reading glasses much more frequently is … I am addicted to my Amazon Kindle.

Amazon Kindle

We're developing an unhealthy relationship.

So how bad is it? Let’s just say I read the entire Millennium Trilogy – totaling nearly 2000 pages if I had read the tree-murdering-totally-not-green paperback editions – in about a week and a half.

I know, the most shocking news you’ve heard in a long time.

To be completely honest with you, the trilogy wasn’t even all that great. I mean it was good, but at times it was downright boring; yet I still consumed it like it was the seventh flippin’ Harry Potter book and I had been waiting like 10 years to find out how Harry was going to defeat Lord Voldemort (because obviously you-know-who was gonna’ get his ass handed to him in the end).

Whoa… this is awkward. Sorry for the spoiler if Voldemort’s demise is news to you. So, umm -anyways…check out this cuddly cat playing the piano!  (post continues below video)

Are we good now?

Ok, then back to my addiction. The truth is, I am seriously in love with my Kindle – maybe too much:

I probably love my Kindle more than I love raptors (it’s a close call though). I think about it when it’s away. I’d rather be reading it right now than writing this post. I’d rather be browsing my expanding ebook catalog than stalking you, err, talking to you, on Facebook. Most of all I’d definitely rather spend my weekend snuggly warm on my couch, in front of the fire (ok, the space heater) with a glass of red wine in one hand and my Kindle in the other – relishing in its sleek, sexy design and convenient book-purchasing capabilities than doing just about anything else (except maybe climbing).

Wow, it felt great to get that off my chest. I’m gonna go eat the entire cushion contents of my living room couch….ummm….I mean read my Kindle now.

About erinobrien26

Boop.

7 responses »

  1. […] My Strange Addiction – Kindle Edition (eriniseclectic.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Kate says:

    My fave Strangest Addiction was the one where the girl eats lots of chalk. It made me think about how much chalk we all eat daily as climbers.

    Unrelated: I am in love with Keyboard Cat like you’re in love with your kindle.

    • erinobrien26 says:

      They probably should have told her to become a climber where it’s socially acceptable rather than have her try to beat her chalk addiction. And it really doesn’t surprise me that you love Keyboard Cat hahaha.

  3. Mommy says:

    The above was posted from my Blackberry. Sorry for all the typos 🙂

  4. Mommy says:

    You’re so welcome honey! Ifreading is yourbiggest addiction, you’redoing ok. hahaha. Loveyou muchly!

  5. Mommy says:

    Glad you love it that much. It is addicting to those of us who love to read. I get irritated when interrupted. I even look for longer grocery store lines so I can whip it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

